Fall 2018 Travel Writing Contest

Read our general guidelines here.

This contest is now closed. Please be patient as our small staff lovingly and carefully reviews each of the hundreds of entries we’ve been lucky enough to receive. We expect to announce a winner and the finalists come springtime—or sooner. Thank you to everyone who shared their talents with Nowhere!

General submissions, however—which are free—are now open.

Spring 2018 Travel Writing Contest

Congratulations to Patricia Striar Rohner for winning our Spring 2018 Travel Writing Contest! Patricia won $1,000 for her story, “A Day in Crown Heights.” We extend a warm congratulations to our finalists well, whose work will be published in Nowhere in the upcoming weeks:

Brandon Cook
Margaret Hedderman
Jamie Shrewsbury
Alise Wascom

“This Land Is…” Travel Writing Contest

Congratulations to McKenzie Long for winning our inaugural contest supporting public lands! She takes home $250 for her story, “The Alphabet Effect.” Hats off as well to our finalists, each of whom has won an America the Beautiful National Parks & Federal Recreational Lands Annual Pass, valued at $80, and whose work will appear in Nowhere in the coming weeks:

Sarah Booher
Blaire Briody
Justin Florey
Chris Waltz

Fall 2017 Travel Writing Contest

Congratulations to Kelsey Camacho for winning the Fall 2017 Travel Writing Contest! Kelsey won $1,000 for her story, “Gå Fram.” We also congratulate our finalists, whose work will appear in Nowhere in the coming weeks:

Michael Boushee
Jane Breakell
Linda Dittmar
Susanna Forrest
Russell Helms
Marya Hornbacher
Susan Roether
Honor Vincent
Marjory Woodfield
Courtney Zoffness

Congratulations to Piers Smith for winning the Spring 2017 Travel Writing Contest! Piers won $1,000 for his story, “Walk Like an Egyptian.” Congratulations also go to our finalists:

Diana Spechler
Beejay Silcox
Marion Pont
Kathryn Paulsen
Dominic Gerard

Big congrats to David Zoby for winning the Fall 2016 Travel Writing Contest! David won $1,000 for his story, “Some Vague Stars to the South.” Congratulations also go to our finalists:

Jessica Lipnack
Hillary Kaylor
Anna Wallace-Thompson
Alia Volz

Spring 2016 Travel Writing Contest Winners

Congratulations to Richard Hague for winning the Spring 2016 Travel Writing Contest. Richard won receive $1,000 for “A Day and a Night on the Late Big Bone.” Also, congrats to the following finalists, whose stories also will appear in Nowhere:

Katie Leonard
Kali VanBaale
Amalia Gladhart
Pamela Dae
Christopher Scott
Lara Tupper
Maggie Pahos
Andrew Wailes